Q. How do Command representatives get the Blotter, Police Reports, and other information from the Provost Marshal's Office (PMO)?
A. Our goal is to provide Commanders and the staff of installation activities with sufficiently detailed and timely information about incidents that occur on Camp Pendleton. Additionally, to inform them of other law enforcement contacts and the obligations resulting from those contacts that pertains to their members. This alleviates the problems associated with Commands not being fully informed and offered the opportunity to be involved in the process. To achieve this goal and maintain a manageable system, PMO distributions are offered to five (5) recipients in each battalion sized organization and larger. Similar arrangements are made for other activities that have a need for PMO distributions. Selection of the recipients is at the discretion of the organization. We also allow each organization to designate five (5) additional persons who are authorized to receive on/off base police reports and conduct Local Records Checks for official command purposes. The PMO will only release information to these ten (10) authorized representatives.
To inquire about your Command’s Authorization List, please call 725-6605 or email:
Q. What do I need to do to register a weapon aboard Camp Pendleton?
A. MCIWEST-MCB CAMPENO 5000.2 establishes the requirement to register privately owned weapons. Weapons must be registered within 72 hours of introduction to Camp Pendleton for storage and deregistered within 72 hours of sale or permanent removal from Camp Pendleton. Weapons that are not stored on Camp Pendleton are not registered.
If you have a Dealer’s Receipt of Sale, you are not required to present the weapon for inspection unless the weapon maybe considered an Assault Weapon in California. Otherwise, bring the weapon to the Police Records section in Bldg 1523 and be sure to clear the weapon in the clearing barrel before bringing it inside the building. Most registrations are entered as you wait, however, if our computer systems are down, you may be asked to complete a Weapons Registration Form.
The following weapons may be registered aboard the base ONLY if they are currently registered with the California Department of Justice.
.50 Caliber BMG
California Department of Justice registration is required BEFORE bringing the weapon to California.
Refer to California Penal Code Section 12280 regarding importation of Assault Weapons or .50 Caliber BMG Weapons.
To apply for an Assault Weapon Permit, an applicant must submit to the Department of Justice
1. a complete Application for Assault Weapon Permit for Military Personnel
2. a $73 fee
3. two complete ten-print fingerprint cards
4. a copy of the pertinent PCS orders, and
5. a letter from the Installation Commander attesting to the military necessity for the applicant to have the assault weapon at the California duty station.
For additional information and to request an application, call the Bureau of Firearms at the California Department of Justice at any of the following numbers:
(916) 263-8100 or (916) 263-0296 or (916) 263-0714 or (916) 263-4887
Q. What do I need to do to receive a Local Records Check?
A. Come to the Police Records section in Bldg 1523 and show a picture ID such as a CAC, Driver’s License, Passport or other form of government issued identification.
Q. What do I need to do to request a Military Police Report that I was involved in?
A. If you need the report for the purpose of the adjudication a claim (i.e. traffic collision), you can submit an Individual Report Request. Request the report as soon as you know you need it, there is no need to wait to request the report. Processing may take 7-10 days or longer depending on the circumstances and severity of the incident. The form is available at Police Records, Bldg 1523, 0730-1530 Mon-Fri or on-line at Navy Forms Online.
Search for Keyword “SCTY” and look for form: MCIWEST-MCB CAMPEN SCTYBN 5800/9
Requests for Incident Complaint Reports for purposes other than the adjudication of a claim (i.e. involving crimes) must be made to the FOIA Coordinator at Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton.
Please see the below link for additional information:
Q. What do I need to do in order to be fingerprinted for a Security Clearance or job application?
A. Come to the Police Records section in Bldg 1523 and show a picture ID such as a CAC, Driver’s License, Passport or other form of government issued identification. Police Records only maintains the FD-258 Applicant Card, so you may be asked to provide your own fingerprint cards if you need to be fingerprinted for a specific purpose. Police Records does not offer Livescan fingerprint services. Click in the link below for a list of Livescan fingerprint services available off-base to the public.
Q. What do I need to do to file a Traffic Violation Report (TVR) to report another person’s driving behavior?
A. The Traffic Violation Report is only for moving violations that occur on Camp Pendleton.
Do NOT attempt to stop the alleged violator. The PMO will research and fill in the missing information. All complaints are taken seriously and are fully investigated by the PMO. You will need to complete a TVR and indicate that you are willing to appear in Traffic Court if the violator pleads not guilty to the violation you have reported.
The form is also available on Navy Forms Online.
Search for Keyword “SCTY” and look for form: MCIWEST-MCB CAMPEN SCTYBN 5800/8
You can email the form to: PendletonPMOReportRequest@usmc.mil
If you wish to speak to someone in person, during business hours, come to the Police Records section in Bldg 1523. After business hours, see the MP Desk in Bldg 1523.
Q. What are the requirements to place my vehicle on the Base Resale Lot?
A. Owners must register their vehicles at the Police Records section in Bldg 1523 and receive a placard before parking in the Resale Lot. All vehicles must be properly registered aboard MCB Camp Pendleton (i.e., appropriate base decal or temporary pass), have a valid state registration, and valid insurance. These documents are subject to verification by Police Records personnel. Resale Lot placards are valid for 60 days. The following vehicles are authorized in the Resale Lot:
3. Recreational Vehicles (RV’s)
7. And all other Vehicles which are required to be registered in California or another state.
There are restrictions on RVs, boats and trailers. Car and motorcycle registrations can be renewed based on the availability of spaces.