Unit HomeNewsNews Article Display
Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton


Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton

"The West Coast's Premier Fleet Marine Force Training Base"

Maj. Megan McClung Leadership Award

By Cpl. Shaltiel Dominguez | Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton | March 11, 2015

Headquarters Marine Corps has released MARADMIN 115/15, calling for nominations for the 2015 Maj. Megan McClung Leadership Award. The award recognizes servicemembers’ leadership skills and their contributions towards the tenets of civil and human rights, equal opportunity, human relations and public service.

“Marines should aspire towards the Maj. Megan McClung leadership award to show their leadership abilities, dedication to duty, and willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty,” said Master Sgt. Tosha Reed, equal opportunity officer for I Marine Expeditionary Force and senior equal opportunity officer for Marine Corps Installations – West. “This award recognizes leaders who are mature, inspirational, innovative, and imaginative.”

The award is named after Maj. Megan McClung, the first female Marine Corps officer killed in combat during the Iraq War. McClung served as a public affairs officer in Al Anbar Province where she lost her life to an improvised explosive device.

“Anyone that receives this award should feel humbled,” said Reed. “Maj McClung was an inspiration with her leadership, can-do attitude, and sense of duty.”

The award is sponsored by the Sea Service Leadership Association (SSIA) and will be presented at the Annual Joint Women’s Leadership Symposium (JWLS) being held on 11-12 2015 in San Diego.

“It is highly important to recognize that everyone brings something different to the fight,” said Reed. “Equal opportunity is imperative in order to complete the mission as a "Team." Every Marine is curial for success.”

For more information on the evaluation criteria please visit: http://www.marines.mil/News/Messages/MessagesDisplay/tabid/13286/Article/173293/call-for-nominations-for-the-2015-major-megan-mcclung-leadership-award.aspx