Press Release #16-010 - Post Office to be Dedicated to Medal of Honor Recipients
21 Oct 2016
A dedication plaque is scheduled to be unveiled at the Camp Pendleton Post Office in honor of Medal of Honor recipients on October 17 at 11:00am.

The Honorable Darrel E. Issa, Brigadier General Kevin J. Killea, Medal of Honor Recipients Colonel Jay Vargas and Colonel Robert Modrzejewski and U.S. Postal Service San Diego District Manager James Olson will be conducting the dedication.

On January 6, 2015 legislation to designate this post office to Medal of Honor recipients was introduced by Rep. Darrel Issa (CA-49). It was approved and signed into law by President Barack Obama on June 13, 2016.

The Medal of Honor is the nation’s highest military award for bravery. It is awarded by the President in the name of Congress. For this reason, it is often referred to as the Congressional Medal of Honor. Since it was first presented in 1863, the medal has been awarded to 3,498 recipients.

Media interested in covering this event must RSVP to Camp Pendleton Public Affairs via email no later than 8:30 a.m. October 17th. Please include number of media personnel, number and type of vehicles to be escorted in your RSVP. Confirmed media members will meet at Camp Pendleton’s SAN LUIS REY GATE no later than 10:15 a.m. on Monday to be escorted to the event.


Public Affairs Office

Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton

Box 555019, Camp Pendleton, CA 92055-5019

MCB Camp Pendleton
MCB Pendleton Seal
Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton